Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction Longlist 2016

The 2016 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is a book award for female writers.

The 2016 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced it’s longlist of twenty female writers. The Prize is awarded annually and celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women’s writing from throughout the world. It is in it’s 21st year and is regarded as one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world.

Included in the longlist are books by major writers such as Dublin-born author, Anne Enright. Enright was appointed the first Laureate for Irish Fiction in 2015. The Green Road has previously won the Easons Irish Novel of the Year award at the 2015 Bord Gais Irish Book Awards. Her other books include The Gathering, which won the 2007 Man Booker Prize and was awarded the Irish Novel of the Year. The Forgotten Waltz was awarded the Andrew Carnegie Media for Excellence in Fiction.

Other big names on the longlist include Kate Atkinson for A God in Ruins, Elizabeth Strout for My Name is Lucy Barton and Attica Locke for Pleasantville, who have previously been shortlisted, and Hanya Yanagihara for A Little Life. Previous winners include Ali Smith for How to be Both last year and Eimear McBride for A Girl is a Half-formed Thing in 2014.

The Full Longlist:

Kate Atkinson – A God in Ruins (Doubleday) – British Author
Shirley Barrett – Rush Oh! (Virago) – Australian Author
Cynthia Bond – Ruby (Two Roads) – American Author
Geraldine Brooks- The Secret Chord (Little, Brown) – Australian/ American Author
Becky Chambers – The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet (Hodder & Stoughton) Amercan Author
Jackie Copleton – A Dictionary of Mutual Understanding (Hutchinson) – British Author
Rachel Elliott – Whispers Through a Megaphone (One, an imprint of Pushkin Press) – British Author
Anne Enright – The Green Road (Jonathan Cape) – Irish Author
Petina Gappah – The Book of Memory (Faber & Faber) – Zimbabwean Author
Vesna Goldsworthy – Gorsky (Chatto & Windus) – British/ Serbian Author
Clio Gray – The Anatomist’s Dream – (Myrmidon) – British Author
Melissa Harrison – At Hawthorn Time (Bloomsbury) – British Author
Attica Locke – Pleasantville (Serpent’s Tail) – American Author
Lisa McInerney – The Glorious Heresies (John Murray) – Irish Author
Elizabeth McKenzie – The Portable Veblen (Fourth Estate) – American Author
Sara Novic – Girl at War (Little, Brown) – American Author
Julia Rochester – The House at the Edge of the World (Viking) – British Author
Hannah Rothschild – The Improbability of Love ( Bloomsbury) – British Author
Elizabeth Strout – My Name is Lucy Barton (Viking) – American Author
Hanya Yanagihara – A Little Life (Picador) – American Author

The shortlist for the Baileys, which was formerly known as the Orange prize, will be revealed on 11 April, with the winner announced on 8 June. The winner will receive £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a Bessie, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.