2016 Voss Literary Prize Longlist

Book awards and literary prizes.

The 2016 Voss Literary Prize longlist has been announced. The Voss Literary Prize which was launched in 2014 is awarded to the best novel published in Australia in the previous year and is dedicated to the memory of Vivian Robert de Vaux Voss who was an historian and lover of literature.

The 2016 Voss Literary Prize Longlist:

Adrian Caesar, The Blessing (Australian Scholarly Publishing)

Stephen Daisley, Coming Rain (Text)

Lisa Gorton, The Life of Houses (Giramondo)

Gail Jones, A Guide to Berlin (Vintage)

Myfanwy Jones, Leap (A&U)

Mireille Juchau, The World Without Us (Bloomsbury)

Leah Kaminsky, The Waiting Room (Vintage)

Malcolm Knox, The Wonder Lover (A&U)

Ilka Tampke, Skin (Text)

Charlotte Wood, The Natural Way of Things (A&U)

Australian novelist Elizabeth Harrower was the 2015 Voss Literary Prize winner for her novel In Certain Circles which was published by Melbourne-based independent publisher, Text Publishing.

The award is managed by the Australian University Heads of English, the peak body for the study of English at Australian universities. The judges for the 2016 Prize are:

Elaine Lindsay (ACU)

Anthony Uhlmann (WSU and AAL)

Brenda Walker (UWA)

David Ellison (Griffith University)

Amanda Nettelbeck (University of Adelaide)