Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017 Longlist

The 2016 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is a book award for female writers.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced its longlist for 2017. The prize previously known as the Orange Prize was established in 1996 and has a £30,000 ($48,233 AUD) prize. It is presented annually to the best novel of the year written in English by a woman.

Longlisted Authors & Books:

Stay With Me (Ayobami Adebayo, Canongate)
The Power (Naomi Alderman, Viking)
Hag-Seed (Margaret Atwood, Hogarth Press)
Little Deaths (Emma Flint, Picador)
The Mare (Mary Gaitskill, Serpent’s Tail)
The Dark Circle (Linda Grant, Orbit)
The Lesser Bohemians (Eimear McBride, Text)
Midwinter (Fiona Melrose, Little, Brown)
The Sport of Kings (C E Morgan, Fourth Estate)
The Woman Next Door (Yewande Omotoso, Chatto & Windus)
The Lonely Hearts Hotel (Heather O’Neill, Quercus)
The Essex Serpent (Sarah Perry, Serpent’s Tail)
Barkskins (Annie Proulx, Fourth Estate)
First Love (Gwendoline Riley, Granta)
Do Not Say We Have Nothing (Madeleine Thien, Granta)
The Gustav Sonata (Rose Tremain, Vintage).

Chair of judges Tessa Ross described the longlist as,

A great showcase for the very best contemporary women’s fiction. We hope that it will inspire readers everywhere.

A shortlist of six will be chosen from the longlist of sixteen.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony in London on 7 June 2017.