Best First Novel Award Shortlist 2016

The Authors' Club - Best First Novel Award

The Authors’ Club has announced the six novels which have been shortlisted for the 2016 Best First Novel Award. The prize is for the debut novel of a British, Irish or UK-based author, first published in the UK, and there is no age limit. This is the 62nd year of the prize.

Best First Novel Award Shortlist

Jakob’s Colours by Lindsay Hawdon (Hodder)
The Last Pilot by Benjamin Johncock (Myriad Editions)
The Good Son by Paul McVeigh (Salt)
The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley (Bloomsbury Circus)
Belonging by Uma Sinha (Myriad Editions)
Rawblood by Catriona Ward (Weidenfeld)

Two independent publishers – Salt and Myriad Editions – make up half the shortlist. Myriad Editions, with two titles, also published the winner of the BFNA 2011, Jonathan Kemp’s London Triptych.

The winner will be announced at the National Liberal Club on Tuesday 7 June.