Irish Book Awards Winners Announced

Irish book awards.

Mike McCormack has won the Novel of the Year prize at the 2016 Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards for a novel constructed from a single sentence. Solar Bones is set in rural Co Mayo and is the story of a dead man returning home on All Souls Day to look back over his life.

The Galway-based author’s first novel in 11 years won the £10,000 Goldsmiths Prize in London recently, which he described as “payback” for his small Dublin-based publisher Tramp Press and his agent who had backed him during his “long and difficult adventure” as a writer.

Marian Keyes, Graham Norton, Paul O’ Connell and Tana French were some of the winning authors named at the Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards held in Dublin in a star-studded awards ceremony. Other well known writers, publishers, booksellers and media personalities including writers Sebastian Barry, Maggie O’ Farrell, Donal Ryan, Marita Conlon-McKenna, Roddy Doyle, Cecelia Ahern, Michael Harding, John Bowman, and Fintan O’ Toole, food writers Indy Power, Sophie White and Roz Purcell were also in attendance.

Bord Gáis Energy Irish Book Awards 2016 Winners:

The Eason Book Club Novel of the Year

Solar Bones – Mike McCormack (Tramp Press) Best Irish Published Book of the Year

The Glass Shore – edited by Sinéad Gleeson (New Island Books)

The Sunday Independent Newcomer of the Year

Red Dirt – E.M. Reapy (Head of Zeus)

The National Book Tokens Non-Fiction Book of the Year

I Read The News Today, Oh Boy – Paul Howard (Picador)

RTÉ Radio One’s The Ryan Tubridy Show Listeners’ Choice Award

Lying In Wait – Liz Nugent (Penguin Ireland)

The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Junior)

Pigín of Howth – Kathleen Watkins, illustrated by Margaret Anne Suggs (Gill Books)

The Specsavers Children’s Book of the Year (Senior)

Knights of the Borrowed Dark – Dave Rudden (Puffin)

The Avonmore Cookbook of the Year

The World of The Happy Pear – Stephen and David Flynn (Penguin Ireland)

The Irish Independent Popular Fiction Book of the Year

Holding – Graham Norton (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Ireland AM Popular Non-Fiction Book of the Year

Making It Up As I Go Along – Marian Keyes (Michael Joseph)

The Bord Gáis Energy Sports Book of the Year

The Battle – Paul O’Connell (Penguin Ireland)

The Books Are My Bag Crime Fiction Book of the Year

The Trespasser – Tana French (Hachette Ireland)

The Short Story of the Year Award

The Visit – Orla McAlinden (Sowilo Press)

The Listowel Writers’ Week Irish Poem of the Year

In Glasnevin – Jane Clarke (From: The Irish Times)