British Book Awards Call For Entries

The British Book Awards, or Nibbies, is the definitive event for honouring the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops.

The British Book Awards or Nibbies is the definitive event for honouring the commercial successes of publishers, authors and bookshops. It succeeds 2016’s British Book Industry Awards.

The Nibbies brings together books of the year with trade accolades such as publisher of the year and book retailer of the year. There are six individual books of the year awards: children’s; debut fiction; fiction; non fiction – lifestyle; non-fiction – narrative and crime & thriller. An overall book of the year is then chosen from the individual winners.

The idea behind the books of the year is to celebrate the whole journey from the author’s mind to the reader’s hand, and showcase the range and depth of modern publishing. It’s about the story itself, but also the way that the publishing contributes both to the story telling and to finding an audience.

The original Nibbies was launched in 1990 by Fred Newman, founder and editor of Publishing News. In 2017, The Bookseller acquired the Nibbies and it now organises the annual awards alongside its magazine, online and conference business.

There have been many notable winners over the years. Faber was the first publisher of the year in 1990 and in 2016 the honour went to Transworld. JK Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince scooped book of the year in 2006 and in 2015 a resurgent Waterstones was named book retailer of the year.

Entries open: Friday, 6th Jan

Entries close: Friday, 10th Feb

Awards night: Monday, 8th May

Click on Download guide below headings to download the category entry guides.

Great People

– Editor of the Year
– Literary Agent of the Year
– Rights Professional of the Year
– Individual Bookseller of the Year

Download guide

Publishing Success

– Marketing Strategy of the Year
– Independent Publisher of the Year
– Imprint of the Year
– Children’s Publisher of the Year
– Academic, Educational & Professional Publisher of the Year
– Publisher of the Year
– Publicity Campaign of the Year

Download guide

Bringing Books to the Readers

– Library of the Year
– Independent Bookshop of the Year
– Children’s Bookseller of the Year
– Book Retailer of the Year
– Non-Traditional Retailer of the Year

Download guide

Books of the Year

– Children’s
– Debut
– Fiction
– Fiction – ‘crime & thriller’
– Non-Fiction – ‘lifestyle’
– Non-Fiction – ‘narrative’

Download guide

Click to visit The Bookseller website for more information