Short Story Award Longlist

Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award.

The Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award has announced its longlist of short story writers for 2016. The award is dedicated to one of Wexford’s most accomplished and beloved writers – Colm Tóibín. Colm Tóibín who is a native of Wexford and internationally recognised author said, I am delighted that my home county has named this international short story competition in my honour. I hope that the competition can inspire both local and international writing talent.

Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award Longlist

The List by Louise Hall

Winter 1963 by Judith Wilson

The Long Goodbye by Martin McSweeney

Another Mouth to Feed by Johanna C Leahy

Accessory by Sharon Dempsey

A Life Lesson by Anna O’Donovan

Settling by Jane Harrington

Turning Away by Sinead Slattery

The Required Distance by Jean Roarty

The Station House by Ellen Britton

The Front Pew by Sheena Lambert

Comrades in Arms by Sean Lyons

Very like a Whale by Joe Neal

Cash in hand by Jo Verity

The Alphabet Patients by Edel Williams

Cold Water Richard by Scarsbrook

It’s the little things by Anne O’Leary

The Irish Mammy; Reworked by Maire Ryan

Carmine by Richard Newton

Pietá by Jonathan de Burca Butler

Minstry of the interior by Louise Kennedy

Close by Padraic Whyte

Our Golden Finery by Riona Judge Mc Cormack

The Roundabout by Catherine Donelly

The Cube by Fergal O’Byrne

Red flags and empty nans by Wendy White

Remember that summer by Lucy Welch

A Reunion by John Clinch

Hemlock 11 by Rory Endean

The Tether by Diarmuid O’Connell

Kathleen’s lit up sky by June Caldwell

Kissing tiny flowers by Sarah Grout

Saltwater by Rose Stevens

On an earth uniformly covered by the sea by Laura Morgan

A roman candle by Sophie Kelliher

Brad Pitt in the movie Thelma and Louise by Chris Connolly

Into the Darkness by Gina Wollerman

Nobody knows the shivering stars by Niamh Mac Cabe

A meal to remember by Michael Tennyson

Home by David Butler

John-John by Pauline Clooney

Breaking Eggs by Joe Mc Kiernan

Cry of the Gull by Lorna Cooper

Freedom by Tina Sweeney

Cruel woman by Elizabeth Mc Cullum – Ryan

Cut to the bone by Stephen Leach

A Dance With Time by Zandra Carrington

Skunk and Beastie by Holly Atkinson

Kicking the Habit by Clare O’Reilly

The best photo I never took by Tom O’Brien

The Anchor by Delia Mac Taggart

Dancing Turtle by Thomas Atkinson

The Burrow by Rosemary Hennigan

An Unexpected Visitor at Elbow Lake by Louise Mangos

The Latent Test by Liam Curtin

Jimmy by Robert Fields

Camping with Daddy by Michele Sheldon

A hand to hold Ayobami Adebayo

The last post by Valerie Ryan

Into the forest by Andrea Mara

They took to the sky by Chris Pritchard

Dad’s lost soul by Lourdes Mackey

Rebirth by Anne Mc Loughlin

Anna’s picture by Mary O’Brien

Roundabouts and swings by Eleanor O’Reily

My Date with Nigella by Peter Kettle

Shrinking from Life by Catherine Talbot

The shortlist for the Colm Tóibín International Short Story Award will be announced on 23rd April 2016 and the judges will then make the final decision. The competition has a prize fund of €1,850.

The judging panel consists of:

• Lisa Coen, a founder of Tramp Press
• Nuala O’Connor, esteemed writer and poet
• Vanessa Fox O’Loughlin, founder of The Inkwell Group and writing website