Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist 2016

The Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist 2016.

The longlist for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced by Perpetual. Nine authors will compete to win this year’s prize. The Miles Franklin Literary Award is regarded as Australia’s most prestigious literary prize. The prize was established by Australian author, Miles Franklin and first awarded in 1957. It is awarded each year to a novel of outstanding literary merit which captures Australian life in any of its phases.

This year’s authors include new writers such as Lucy Treloar, A.S. Patrić, and Myfanwy Jones, and previous longlisted authors such as Tony Birch and Stephen Orr. Independent publishers have been well represented in this year’s longlist with all but one book being published by an independent publisher.

Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist:

Ghost River by Tony Birch (University of Queensland Press)

Coming Rain by Stephen Daisley (Text Publishing)

Hope Farm by Peggy Frew (Scribe Publications)

Leap by Myfanwy Jones (Allen & Unwin)

The World Without Us by Mireille Juchau (Bloomsbury Publishing)

The Hands: an Australian Pastoral by Stephen Orr (Wakefield Press)

Black Rock White City by A S Patric (Transit Lounge)

Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar (Pan Macmillan)

The Natural Way of Things by Charlotte Wood (Allen & Unwin)