Miles Franklin Literary Award 2017 Shortlist

Miles Franklin Literary Award is an Australian award which recognises Australian novels.

Photo courtesy of Miles Franklin Literary Award

The Miles Franklin Literary Award has revealed its shortlist for 2017. Regarded as Australia’s most prestigious literary prize, the award was established in 1957 by the estate of My Brilliant Career author Stella Maria Sarah Miles Franklin to recognise novels which reflect ‘Australian life in any of its phases’.

2017 Miles Franklin Shortlist

An Isolated Incident, by Emily Maguire (Pan Macmillan Australia)

The Last Days of Ava Langdon, by Mark O’Flynn (University of Queensland Press)

Their Brilliant Careers, by Ryan O’Neill (Black Inc)

Waiting, by Philip Salom (Puncher & Wattmann)

Extinctions, by Josephine Wilson (UWA Publishing)

Previous recipients of the Miles Franklin Literary Award include Thomas Keneally, Tim Winton, Peter Carey, Patrick White, and Michelle De Kretser. The winner of the $60,000 award will be announced on 7 September at the State Library of NSW.