Search Results for "book awards"

Rachel Donohue Wins ‘Irish Writer of the Year’

Rachel Donohue is an award winning Irish writer.

Image courtesy of The Irish Times Rachel Donohue has been awarded the Hennessy New Irish Writer of the Year award at a ceremony in Dublin. Alongside the Emerging Fiction prize, for her story The Taking of Mrs Kennedy. Sean Tanner won the First Fiction category and Una Mannion the prize for Emerging Poetry. Elaine Cullen,

read more

New $10,000 Digital Literature Award

Queensland Literary Award have announced their shortlists for 2016.

The Queensland Literary Awards has introduced a new digital literature award. The prize which is worth $10,0000 is sponsored by the Queensland University of Technology. This Award is open to all original works of digital literature (e.g. fiction, non-fiction, poetry, graphic narrative) which are created for digital consumption. Queensland’s minister for innovation, science and the

read more

Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction 2017 Longlist

The 2017 Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction is a book award for female writers.

The Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has announced its longlist for 2017. The prize previously known as the Orange Prize was established in 1996 and has a £30,000 ($48,233 AUD) prize. It is presented annually to the best novel of the year written in English by a woman. Longlisted Authors & Books: Stay With Me

read more

Kate Grenville Wins Award for Literature

Kate Grenville is an Australian author and winner of the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature.

Australian author, Kate Grenville is the winner of the Australia Council Award for Lifetime Achievement in Literature. Grenville is one of Australia’s most celebrated writers. The award, formerly known as the Writers’ Emeritus Award, recognises ‘the achievements of eminent literary writers over the age of 60 who have made an outstanding and lifelong contribution to

read more

Viva la Novella 2017 Winners Announced

The 2017 Seizure Viva La Novella competition shortlist has been announced.

Seizure have announced the two winners of Viva la Novella V. The competition is now in its fifth year – and in its fourth year of offering an editorial professional development stream. Seizure started in 2010 as a magazine collaboration between Alice Grundy and David Henley and has since grown into a community for writers,

read more

ALS Gold Medal Longlist Announced

Literary awards and literary prizes.

The longlist for the 2017 Australian Literature Society (ALS) Gold Medal has been announced. The Australian Literature Society Gold Medal (ALS Gold Medal) is awarded annually by the Association for the Study of Australian Literature for “an outstanding literary work in the preceding calendar year.” From 1928 to 1974 it was awarded by the Australian

read more

Hazel Rowley Fellowship 2017 Finalists

Writers Victoria has announced the seven finalists for the 2017 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship.

Writers Victoria has announced the seven finalists for the 2017 Hazel Rowley Literary Fellowship, awarded annually to an Australian writer for a proposed biographical work. The annual award commemorates the work of Hazel Rowley (1951-2011), one of the world’s leading biographers, who left behind a legacy of great writing, a passion for words and for

read more

Two Female Authors Share Literary Award

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlist for 2017 has been announced.

The award for fiction writing at this year’s Prime Minister’s Literary award has been awarded jointly to two women writers, Lisa Gorton for her novel, The Life of Houses and Charlotte Wood, for her novel The Natural Way of Things. Lisa Gorton’s book looks at the relationships between three generations of an Australian establishment family,

read more

Miles Franklin Literary Award Shortlist 2016

The Miles Franklin Literary Award longlist 2016.

The shortlist for the 2016 Miles Franklin Literary Award has been announced at The Australian Booksellers Association Conference at The QT Hotel in Canberra, Australia. The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literature prize and is awarded each year to a novel which is of the highest literary merit. This year women and

read more

In Conversation With Author Kelly Creighton

Kelly Creighton is an author from Northern Ireland.

Kelly Creighton is an editor, novelist and short story writer from Northern Ireland. She is the author of The Bones of It which was published in 2015 by Liberties Press. The Bones of It was the San Diego Book Review novel of the year in 2015 and nominated for the 2016 Kate O’Brien Award. Kelly’s

read more

Joan London Wins Best Fiction Award

Australian author, Joan London the author of award winning book The Golden Age.

Author Joan London has won ‘Best Fiction’ in the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards for her book The Golden Age which is a story of resilience, the irrepressible, enduring nature of love, and the fragility of life. It is set in 1954. Thirteen-year-old Frank Gold, a refugee from wartime Hungary, is learning to walk again after

read more

Elizabeth Harrower Wins 2015 Voss Literary Prize

Australian novelist Elizabeth Harrower. Image courtesy of The Australian newspaper.

Australian novelist Elizabeth Harrower has won the 2015 Voss Literary Prize for her novel In Certain Circles which was published by Melbourne-based independent publisher, Text Publishing. Image courtesy of The Australian. Elizabeth Harrower who was born in 1928 and lives in Sydney withdrew her fifth novel, In Certain Circles, some months prior to publication, in 1971.

read more

This House of Grief

This House of Grief by Australian author, Helen Garner is a crime / non-fiction book.

Title: This House of Grief Author: Helen Garner Genre: Biography, Crime, Non-Fiction Publisher: Text Publishing Release Date: August 20, 2014 Format: Digital & Paperback Pages: 288 On the evening of 4 September 2005, Father’s Day, Robert Farquharson, a separated husband, was driving his three sons home to their mother, Cindy, when his car left the

read more

To Name Those Lost

To Name Those Lost in an Australian novel by Australian author, Rohan Wilson.

Title: To Name Those Lost Author: Rohan Wilson Genre: Fiction Publisher: Allen & Unwin Release Date: September 24, 2014 Format: Digital & Paperback Pages: 242 To Name Those Lost is the story of a father’s journey. Wilson has an eye for the dirt, the hardness, the sheer dog-eat-doggedness of the lives of the poor. Human

read more

Australian Author Yvette Walker on Writing

Yvette Walker is a Perth-based Australian novelist.

Yvette Walker is an Australian author who currently resides in Perth with her partner. Her debut novel Letters to the End of Love was published by University of Queensland Press in April 2013. It was shortlisted for the 2014 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards. Yvette won a 2014 WA Premiers Book Award in the Emerging WA

read more

Marlee Jane Ward on the Writer’s Life

Marlee Jane Ward is an Australian writer and author of Welcome to Orphancorp.

Marlee Jane Ward is a writer, reader and self-confessed weirdo from Melbourne, Australia. She grew up on the Central Coast of New South Wales and studied creative writing at the University of Wollongong. In the summer of 2014 she attended the Clarion West Writers Workshop in the United States. She took out second place in

read more

Jasper Jones to Become a Movie

Jasper Jones is a novel written by Craig Silvey and published by Allen & Unwin.

Update: Australian-British film and stage actor Hugo Weaving who starred in movies such as The Adventures of Priscilla, Queen of the Desert, The Lord of the Rings trilogy, Little Fish, The Matrix, V for Vendetta has been cast in Jasper Jones, set to commence principal photography on 26th October in Western Australia. Jasper Jones the 2009 novel written by

read more