Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017 Shortlist

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlist for 2017 has been announced.
Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield have announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards.

Of over 450 entries submitted, the judges have selected 30 literary pieces across six categories, covering a breadth of topics including; inspiring true stories, lyrical poetry, visual storytelling and undiscovered journeys.

This year marks the 10-year milestone since the first Prime Minister’s Literary Awards took place in 2008. The Awards celebrate the important contribution Australian writers, poets, illustrators and historians make to the Australian cultural and intellectual landscape, telling engaging stories in distinctive and compelling ways.

Shortlisted Titles:

The Easy Way Out by Steven Amsterdam

The Last Days of Ava Langdon by Mark O’Flynn

Their Brilliant Careers by Ryan O’Neill

Waiting by Philip Salom

Extinctions by Josephine Wilson


Painting Red Orchids by Eileen Chong

Year of the Wasp by Joel Deane

Content by Liam Ferney

Fragments by Antigone Kefala

Headwaters by Anthony Lawrence

Non Fiction

Mick, a Life of Randolph Stow by Suzanne Falkiner

The Art of Time Travel, Historians and their Craft, by Tom Griffiths

Our Man Elsewhere, in search of Alan Moorehead by Thornton McAmish

Quicksilver by Nicolas Rothwell

The Art of Rivalry by Sebastian Smee

This year’s entries once again reflect the high calibre and creativity of Australia’s emerging and award winning authors and illustrators. $100,000 is awarded in each category, with up to $80,000 for each winning entry and $5,000 for each shortlisted entry.

This year’s books were assessed by a new panel of 15 eminent judges, who each bring a wealth of experience to the Awards. The Government would also like to acknowledge the significant role the retiring panel has played over the last three years.

Click here for the full Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017 shortlists.

Winners will be announced in December.