Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award Longlist

Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2016.

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2016 has recently announced this year’s longlist which includes writers from six countries and across four continents. The longlist includes Man Booker shortlisted and longlisted authors Colum McCann and Deborah Levy as well as the winner of the Dylan Thomas Prize – Maggie Shipstead, the Guardian First Book Award winner – Petina Gappah and winner of last year’s Commonwealth Short Story Prize – Jonathan Tel.

Full Longlist:

Backcountry’ by Maggie Shipstead
‘Clap Hands’ by Thomas Morris
‘Poppies in the Snow’ by Madhulika Liddle
‘The Dacha’ by Alix Christie
‘The Elector of Nossnearly’ by Rob Magnuson Smith
‘The Glass Woman’ by Deborah Levy
‘The Human Phonograph’ by Jonathan Tel
‘The Master Swordsman’ by Marcel Theroux
‘The News of Her Death’ by Petina Gappah
‘The Phosphoresence’ by Nicholas Ruddock
‘What Time is it Now?’ by Colum McCann
‘Unbeschert’ by Edith Pearlman

The 2016 Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award winner will receive £30,000 making it the world’s richest prize for a single short story. Five other shortlisted writers will each receive £1,000. The shortlist will be announced in The Sunday Times on 20 March. The winner will be announced at a gala dinner hosted by EFG at Stationers’ Hall in London on Friday 22 April. Readers can read the longlisted stories on the Sunday Times website here.