Prime Minster’s Literary Awards Winners

The Prime Minster's Literary Awards celebrate the important contribution Australian writers, poets, illustrators and historians make to the Australian cultural and intellectual landscape.

The winners of the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards have been announced at a ceremony in Canberra on December 1st. Each winner was chosen from shortlists announced in November. The winners in each category receive $80,000 and the shortlisted writers receive $5000. Winning Titles: Fiction Their Brilliant Careers (Ryan O’Neill, Black Inc.) Poetry Headwaters (Anthony

read more

Prime Minister’s Literary Awards 2017 Shortlist

The Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlist for 2017 has been announced.

Australian Prime Minister Malcolm Turnbull and Minister for the Arts Mitch Fifield have announced the shortlist for the 2017 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards. Of over 450 entries submitted, the judges have selected 30 literary pieces across six categories, covering a breadth of topics including; inspiring true stories, lyrical poetry, visual storytelling and undiscovered journeys. This

read more

Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards 2017 Winners

The Victorian Premier's Literary Awards recognise and reward literary achievement by Australian writers.

Novelist, short-story writer and memoirist, Georgia Blain, who died in December 2015, has posthumously won the 2017 Victorian Premier’s Award for fiction for her final novel, Between a Wolf and a Dog. The $25,000 prize was accepted by her partner, Andrew Taylor. The book is about a woman dying from brain cancer. Shortly after Blain

read more