Queensland Literary Awards 2016 Winners

Queensland Literary Award have announced their shortlists for 2016.

The winners of the 2016 Queensland Literary Awards have been announced. The Queensland Literary Awards (QLA) was established in 2012 by a group of passionate Queensland volunteers and advocates for literature. The Awards recognise and reward outstanding Australian writers.

Winning Books & Categories

Fiction ($10,000)

Between a Wolf and a Dog (Georgia Blain, Scribe)

Nonfiction ($10,000)

Small Acts of Disappearance: Essays on Hunger (Fiona Wright, Giramondo)

Young Adult ($10,000)

Dreaming the Enemy (David Metzenthen, A&U)

Children’s ($10,000)

KidGlovz (Julie Hunt, illus by Dale Newman, A&U)

History ($10,000)

The Pearl Frontier: Indonesian Labor and Indigenous Encounters in Australia’s Northern Trading Network (Julia Martinez & Adrian Vickers, University of Hawaii Press)

Steele Rudd Award for a Short Story Collection (joint-winners, $5000 each)

A Few Days in the Country and Other Stories (Elizabeth Harrower, Text)

The High Places (Fiona McFarlane, Hamish Hamilton)

Judith Wright Calanthe Award for a Poetry Collection ($10,000)

Anatomy of Voice (David Musgrave, GloriaSMH Press)

Queensland Premier’s Award for a Work of State Significance ($25,000)

Not Just Black and White (Lesley & Tammy Williams, UQP)

Queensland Premier’s Young Publishers and Writers Awards ($10,000 each)

Emily Craven

Michelle Law

Unpublished Indigenous Writer—David Unaipon Award ($10,000)

Paul Collis for ‘Dancing Home’

The Courier-Mail 2016 People’s Choice Queensland Book of the Year ($10,000)

Swimming Home (Mary-Rose MacColl, A&U).

No award was given in the Emerging Queensland Writer—manuscript award category, which carries a cash prize of $10,000 and manuscript development and publication with the University of Queensland Press.

The winners were announced at a ceremony at the State Library of Queensland on 5 October. The winners were chosen from shortlists announced in September.